Order Books & Edible Goodies
Wild Food Hunt
Recipes
Videos
Donate
Work Study Internship
Links
About
Contact

Living Soil Syllabus 2016

Living Soil
Learning from Nature’s Wisdom
Durango, Colorado 81301
848 East 3rd Ave
970-317-0988
Local Wild & Living Soil Program

2016 Syllabus

February 9, 2016 – April 27, 2016

120 hours Course Time

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 9am – 12pm

Three overnight field trips (Encouraged but not mandatory):

February 28-29 Snowshoe/Ski to Silver Star Backcountry Hut
March 19-20 Visit the Dream Cave in McElmo Canyon
April 23-24 Flatwater overnight river trip on San Juan River

Class Schedule

Class 1: Tuesday, February 9

Morning Practice: Thistle Breathing Meditation

Instructor: Katrina Blair

Lecture: Introduction to Local Wild Living Soil Program, Wild Edible Abundance

Class 2: Wednesday, February 10

Morning Practice: Wild Connection Walk

Instructor: Katrina Blair

Lecture: Solar Dehydrators, Wild Breads

Class 3: Tuesday, February 16

Morning Practice: Meditation

Instructor: Don Lewis

Lecture: Philosophy of Natural Therapeutics

Class 4: Wednesday, February 17

Morning Practice: Body Prayer - Ananda Foley

Instructor: Gabriela Ranzi

Lecture: Living Foods Lifestyle

Class 5: Tuesday, February 23

Morning Practice: Yoga - Lily Russo

Instructor: Chloe Bovoletis /Katrina Blair

Lecture: Healthy Teeth, Skin and Hair

Class 6: Wednesday, February 24

Morning Practice: Tyler VanGemert – Tai Chi

Instructor: Chloe Bovoletis/ Cara Moore

Lecture: Raw and Wild Recipes

Class 7: Tuesday, March 1

Morning Practice: Yoga - Lily Russo

Instructor: Pat Blair

Lecture: Detoxification

Class 8: Wednesday, March 2

Morning Practice: Body Prayer - Ananda Foley

Instructor: Gabriela Ranzi

Lecture: Living Sauces

Class 9: Tuesday, March 8

Morning Practice: Tai Chi - Tyler

Instructor: Tyler VanGemert

Lecture: Eastern Energetics

Class 10: Wednesday, March 9

Morning Practice: Tai Chi - Tyler

Instructor: Tyler VanGemert

Lecture: Wellness Practices

Class 11 Tuesday, March 15

Morning Practice: Outside Field Trip with Roots

Instructor: Katrina Blair

Lecture: Fermentation, Healthy Colon, Digestion, Enzymes

Class 12: Wednesday, March 16

Morning Practice: Vipassana Meditation

Instructor: Rachel Gallien

Lecture: Sprouting Basics and Planting Microgreens

Class 13: Tuesday, March 22

Morning Practice: Tai Chi - Tyler VanGemert

Instructor: Katrina Blair

Lecture: Healthy Soil, Composting, Worm, Mini Greenhouses

Class 14: Wednesday, March 23

Morning Practice: Chi Gung -Sage Peterson

Instructor: Rachel Gallien

Lecture: Healing Salves

Class 15: Tuesday, March 29

Morning Practice: Yoga - Deb

Instructor: Deb Buck

Lecture: Wild Medicinal Tea and Plant Communication

Class 16: Wednesday, March 30

Morning Practice: Chi Gung - Sage Peterson

Instructor: Monea Monroe

Lecture: 12 Permaculture Principals

Class 17: Tuesday, April 5

Morning Practice: Kundalini Yoga

Instructor: Cristina San Pedro

Lecture: The Spiritual Power of Water

Class 18: Wednesday, April 6

Morning Practice: Kundalini Yoga – Cristina San Pedro

Instructor: Rachel Bennett

Lecture: Seed Saving

Class 19: Tuesday, April 12

Morning Practice: Wild Yoga – Rebecca Wildbear

Instructor: Kate Shavel

Lecture: Medicine Making - Syrups, Tinctures

Class 20: Wednesday, April 13

Morning Practice: Wild Yoga – Rebecca Wildbear

Instructor: Kate Shavel / Chloe Bovoletis

Lecture: Edible Medicinal and Remediating Mushrooms

Class 21: Tuesday, April 19

Morning Practice: Meditation

Instructor: Don Lewis

Lecture: Energetic Bodywork

Class 22: Wednesday, April 20

Morning Practice: Voice Meditation

Instructor: Rebecca Favero

Lecture: EFT Tapping and Wild Plant Support

Class 23: Tuesday, April 26

Morning Practice: Kundalini Yoga

Instructor: Cristina San Pedro

Lecture: Prana – the Essence of Life

Class 24: Wednesday, April 27

Morning Practice:

Instructor: All Invited

Lecture: Final Presentations and Celebration

Field Trip (2-28-16/ 2-29-16)

Backcountry Ski/Snowshoe Trip to Silver Star Backcountry Hut

Depart on Sunday from Turtle Lake Refuge and return on Monday.

Focus: Simple Winter Wild Foods and Gourmet Raw Backcountry Recipes

Field Trip (3-19-16/3-20/16)

Wild Camping Trip to the Dream Cave in McElmo Canyon

Depart at 1:00pm on Saturday from Turtle Lake Refuge and return by 4:00pm Sunday.

Focus: Sustaining on Wild Edible Foods, Permaculture, and Food Forests

Field Trip (4-23-16/ 4-24-16)

River Trip on the Upper San Juan River

Depart AM on Saturday from Turtle Lake Refuge and return PM on Sunday.

Focus: Wild River Trip Celebration

Attached Files   

Living Soil - Syllabus -2016 final!.doc turtlelakerefuge Feb 16, 2016 482 KB
Living Soil Syllabus 2016 Word File